top of page
  • Writer's pictureMeaghan Scott

Pee Your Pants? Me Too.

Updated: Mar 21, 2020

As I sat in my pelvic physiotherapist's chair last week, crying over how overwhelmed I was feeling, she asked me how she could help to "de-clutter my life". She made me list out my "must dos" with my "want tos". Turns out, most of the things that are going on right now fall into the "must do" category, so instead of sending me home with the usual "homework" of exercise, I get to come see her once a week to release my pelvic floor (yes, this is a thing).


The first time I met Keri (my amazing pelvic physiotherapist), she asked about my history and wanted to know if I used to pee my pants as a child, to which I responded "yes". She asked me if I'd ever gotten any treatment for it, and I replied, "no".

"Was it something everyone thought you'd grow out of?"


Pretty. Much.


But did I? During my carefree years, absolutely, thanks to zero responsibility, friends, and alcohol. However, my incontinence and the urgency to pee stems from stress. I always wondered where my stress went... I didn't get headaches, or sweaty palms. I was never tense. I didn't panic. I never felt stressed out. Turns out, my stress took over my pelvic floor and it's gotten to the point where, a) I can't actually physically hold my pelvis any tighter, so when I need to go to the bathroom, I'm pretty unable to hold it in and b) it may be the reason I am not getting pregnant. My pelvic floor is so tight that it may not be allowing any swimmers through. Fucked up, right? Sidebar: my experience with (in)fertility will be shared soon enough too. So, I'm in treatment because I can cure this. I can change my behaviour, and retrain my pelvic floor. As Keri says about incontinence, "it's common, but it's not normal." And more people need to know this!


Moral of the story: therapy comes in many different forms, and pelvic physio is one of them. If you suffer from incontinence, terrible periods, are about to have a baby, have just had a baby, or any other variety of pelvicy related things (dudes too!), GO SEE HER. Well, get on her waiting list... she's worth it. And so is your pelvic health. http://abodyinmotion.ca/pelvichealth/


Recent information:


Hope you're having a bad ass week, and if you celebrate Hallowe'en, I can't wait to see pictures!


Xoxox,

M


101 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Untitled

bottom of page