top of page
  • Writer's pictureMeaghan Scott

How to Make Self-Isolating Less Soul-Sucking

I know I'm not alone in the realization that self-isolation SUCKS. Other than the grocery store, I've been at home self-isolating. And it has been such a mental challenge... and I'm an introvert! I love my alone time. I actually took most of today off of facebook because my timeline has been a soul suck of information. Do this, do that, don't do this, this many people are dead, you're over-reacting, you're not doing enough! It is so overwhelming and highly anxiety inducing.


Here's what to do to make it suck less:

1) Call a different friend every day. I spoke with one of my besties for almost an hour and a half and it totally raised my spirits. Plus, laughter!

2) MOVE YOUR BODY. I know how easy it is to sit on the couch and be all consumed by screens, but this is an instant mood booster. I did some Yoga with Adrienne on YouTube, and (if I can find it), I'm going to bust out my rebounder.

3) GO OUTSIDE. I write these ones in all caps because they are ESSENTIAL to not having the soul sucked out of you. I took Kins for a super long walk yesterday, and we both slept well. The fresh air will do you good. We are about to embark on another once I get out of my pajamas (yes, it's 4pm. Shh).

4) Get grounded. If it's warm enough, go outside in bare feet. If not, touch some dirt. Re-arrange your plants in different pots or start planting some seeds. Mother Earth is allllllll healing, my friends.

5) Stop reading your facebook timeline or watching the news constantly. Give yourself an hour (or less!) a day to peruse, and find a way to decompress after reading/watching.

6) Have a hot bath or shower.

7) Meditate, or just lay quietly.

8) Listen to your favourite music. Bust out your old mixed cds (if you have a cd player!), or create some old school playlists on Spotify or YouTube. Dancing and singing are added bonuses.


Remember that we will get through this. Together. While apart.

Don't be afraid to reach out. Your feelings are valid. We are all confused and worried about the future, but this will pass.


Sending a shit ton of love,

M

74 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Untitled

bottom of page