top of page
  • Writer's pictureMeaghan Scott

All That Self-y Stuff

Updated: Mar 21, 2020

In the midst of everything back to school related, I've also been in renovation slash decision making mode. Adam and I have had to finalize the smallest and largest of things, in very small pockets of time, and we are currently dealing with a torn apart backyard with orange spray paint everywhere, while we wait for a date for the pool to be installed. Followed by the deck and sliding door. Oh, and then we're moving in with Adam's parents for three months while we renovate the ENTIRE HOUSE.


Needless to say, the last two weeks have been a complete whirlwind. Last Wednesday, I found myself torn between taking a few moments to myself or writing the blog. And whilst I usually find writing quite cathartic, the opportunity to bathe in peace with my nachos and chips, and Rupaul's Drag Race, won. I'm really working on being consistent in my writing, as my ultimate goal is to begin writing a book by the end of the year, and this blog is allowing me to get every random thought out AND it's also allowing me to see which posts are the most relatable to my target audience (aka YOU). In the last week and a half, I found myself feeling quite guilty that I neither created a mailing list to send out or a blog to post, and I've really had to allow my brain (and my heart!) to know that sometimes it's okay to step back. It is essential to take care of yourself, however it is that you do that. So, what does that have to do with you?


Essentially, I'm giving you permission to let go of a duty or two every once in awhile if that's what you mentally need. Obviously, this doesn't mean abandoning your children, or doing something completely irresponsible, but if it's something like missing a (non-major) event, or leaving the dishes another day, skipping out on plans you committed to, but didn't even want to go through with anyway, it's OKAY.


Stuck for ideas? Here are a few to choose from:

- exercise

- meditate

- take a bath or a long, hot shower

- go for a walk/hang out in nature

- turn off your phone

- hang out with an old buddy

- say no

- go to bed early

- write

- read

- listen to an audiobook or a podcast

- watch something light and uplifting

Do something different? Share those ideas!


And if you're still feeling stressed, this is a great little image to remind you just how freaking bad ass you are.


Have a momentous rest of the week, full of love for yourself, and kindness for others.


Xoxox,

M


20 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Untitled

bottom of page